We have friends whose daughter just went in for emergency surgery. Annie had a melon-sized growth in her torso that the doctors removed, but along with the growth came a large amount of muscle mass that she will never have again. Annie has been an active, vibrant young woman, and her life will never be the same.

Annie’s mother spoke tearfully about it to Blue Eyes today. She said, “You guys have been through a lot with Joseph – medically, emotionally, and otherwise. How do you do it? How do you bear it?”

It’s a good question, and one to which there is no simple answer. But in this post, I’d like to explore how a parent bears it when their child is limited or in pain.

Right off the bat, I’d say it’s a journey, not a destination. I’ll go weeks where I’m feeling okay about having a kid with autism. I’m pretty sure I can handle it and, even though it’s got its rough moments, we are navigating our way through.

Then something will happen. Maybe I’ll spend time with my friends, for instance, who have neurotypical children. To me these kids seem always up for an adventure, whatever it may be. They run over to grab my hand and engage with me. They are – well, the way I think kids should be.

Did you hear that word I used? Should. Should can get a person in a lot of trouble. I start shoulding all over myself. I touch in yet again to that sad, tender place inside that wishes – oh, wishes with all my might – that my life was different. That I had one of those other kids. That feels I should have gotten one of those kids instead of the one I got. Or, at least, since I got one with autism, that I should be able to handle it better.

Wheeeee, off I go into a downward spiral. Oh, and by the way, I shouldn’t be going into a downward spiral.

It’s the mind trips that kill you. Future tripping, past regretting, if onlys, shoulds. It’s the comparing mind that looks over there instead of focusing on the here.

All that stuff — mind tripping, comparing, etc — they all lead to pain and suffering. There is nothing else inherently causing my pain. I have met the enemy, and it is me.

I pray. I cling to the robe of the Master. If I can’t find it in me to open to God, then I find my breath. I breathe, slow and deep. What I love about the breath is that it’s always in the present…you can’t breathe in the past or the future. So being mindful about the breath gets me back here. It lessens the craziness of my mind.

I remember that this journey is a marathon, not a sprint, and that I need to pace myself, even take time out sometimes. I remember what a wise friend told me: one has to learn to trust even when in pain. So I renew my trust – again and again and again.

There is so much more going on than I can see in my little perspective. If, indeed, God is a just and loving God, then I have to trust that what’s happening is supposed to happen. My son has his own life lessons, his own karma. That part is out of my control. For my own sanity, I must let go of what’s not mine and give what’s God’s back to God.

Perhaps the last way I have to bear it, but so very much not the least way, is friends. When I can’t take another step, my friends hold me up. Sometimes it’s just a phone call to another autism mom to say, “Hey, it’s rough over here. Talk to me.” Sometimes it’s a heart to heart with lots of tears. Whatever form it takes, it’s a sweet balm.

Autism parents, we are not in this alone. We have each other – and, even if it’s just through the internet, we can lend a virtual ear, a shoulder, a word of wisdom.

At some point, the downward spiral changes direction. Coming back into the here and now, I breathe a prayer of gratitude for what we have, for the challenge we’ve been given to grow through, for the chance to breathe the air of this earth.

And once again it hits me that it’s not about waiting for the storm to pass. It’s about learning to dance in the rain.

Just for today, then, I’m going to dance. Letting the cold, wet stuff from the heavens fall all around me, I’m going to celebrate all that is, all that isn’t, and all that is yet to be.

