My father-in-law, who I never got to meet, made a deathbed prediction about each of his three children. His family was around him and he spoke with all the power of a man from whose eyes the physical, worldly scales were lifting.  He pronounced that his youngest daughter, Jeni, would surprise them all. Turning to his oldest daughter he said, “God help the man who marries Karen.”

Then he made his prediction about Blue Eyes.

He said that some scheming bitch would get him.

You can imagine that my future in-laws did not welcome me with open arms.

When I meet my father-in-law on the other side, he and I will have a score to settle.

Nevertheless, he wasn’t entirely wrong. While I am rarely a bitch, I do scheme. Not so much with Blue Eyes, but definitely with Joseph.

For instance. If you have a kid anywhere around 7 years old, you have probably heard of the Froggy books. Endearing and funny, Joseph loves them all. In every Froggy book, characters call out, “FRROOGGGYY!” and Froggy answers, “Wha-a-a-a-t?”

(Stop right there. Often autistic kids don’t answer when you call their name. We had already overcome this hurdle but, if it’s one of your challenges, get the Froggy books!)

When I read these to Joseph, or when he reads them himself, we say “Wha-a-a-a-t?” in a musical tone. One day I noticed that, when I called Joseph’s name, he responded to me with “Wha-a-a-a-t?” in the same musical way.

Hmmm, thought I. He is starting to imitate the Froggy books. So I got online and ordered a few of the books that might serve my future purposes. I chose Froggy Eats Out, Froggy Plays in the Band, and Froggy Goes to Camp with the thought that Joseph might learn to 1) Be more comfortable eating in a restaurant, 2) Be less sensitive to live music and 3) Go away to summer camp.

Our church offers a 3-night residential summer camp for kids in grades 2-5. I’d mentioned it several times to Joseph but each time he’d responded with an angry outburst: “I don’t WANT to go!”

I understood. So many unknowns, potential noise, unpredictable children, unfamiliar surroundings. It would be great for him, I thought, but how do you get a fearful, anxious kid to want to do something like that?

I said no more about it and simply read Froggy Goes to Camp with him. That book turned out to be a favorite. I cannot tell you how many times we’ve read it and laughed at the antics of Froggy and the others at summer camp.

Then it happened. One day we were leaving Sunday School when Joseph happened to look up at the monitor. There were pictures of kids swimming, boating, and generally having a great time. “What’s that?” he asked. “Oh, that’s summer camp,” I said, as casually as I could.

“I want to go!” Joseph said. I explained that it was 3 whole nights away. “I want to go!” Joseph said.

I discussed it with the guy in charge. Unbeknownst to us, they had assigned a woman to be Joseph’s aide at Sunday School — someone with special needs experience, who knew to hang back unless she was needed. Isn’t that nice? We all felt that Joseph needed someone with him at camp, and they felt that it ought to be a man who could sleep in the cabin with the boys.

So Blue Eyes and Joseph are away at summer camp. Last night was the first night and it sounded like it was going really well.

Honestly, even with all my scheming I didn’t really believe this would happen.

Things cycle in and out with autism. Joseph’s little fears, which had previously receded, have been making a re-entry. All of a sudden he won’t eat outside because of bees. Swimming in the pond is scary because of dragonflies. The other day he screamed in terror because there was a deer nearby.

But yesterday we were driving along and I commented on how quiet Joseph was. “What are you thinking about?” I asked. “Camp,” he replied. “It’s going to be really, really fun!”

It is rare for Joseph to look forward to something new. Dear God, please let it be really, really fun.

I’ve got a quiet house for a few days. Think I’ll use the time to scheme up something new.

