IFJoseph turned ten yesterday. He had a wonderful day and was greatly celebrated both at home and at school. This morning he came into our room in a grumpy mood. With deep feeling he said, “I want it to be my birthday again today!”

Wouldn’t it be nice to be greatly celebrated every day? In this spirit, I am working on seeing what’s good about the people in my life and acknowledging that to them. I have a friend who, when her husband comes home in the evening, says, “Thanks for going to work today.” A small thing, but a big small thing. I think about how I would feel if I got thanked for making the dinner or doing the dishes or just for who I am. I want to notice those things in others. There is, after all, so much good in people — in the world in general. If we have the eyes to see.

When Joseph was little, I used a Halloween analogy to explain God. You know how people dress up in all kinds of costumes on Halloween? I’d ask. Well, every day is Halloween to God. God dresses up like you and me and every single person in the world. God dresses up as light, as color, as sound, as plants, as animals. And the trick is to see God through those disguises, because s/he is right there!

When you gaze out at the ocean, Yogananda said, You will be looking directly at me, United with my Beloved on the altar of the horizon.

God even dresses up as autism. It’s not God’s best look, to my way of thinking, but nonetheless there He is. When I look beyond the veil of flapping and tantrums and lack of eye contact, I see Her. I don’t know why God chose this particular costume, but why not? God is, if nothing else, playful and mysterious.

The divine play, the yogis say. The lila. When we celebrate the lila and the many costumes of God, then we are able to see God behind the whole adventure.

Spirituality to me means having a joyous spirit. I don’t know about you, but I am at my most joyous when I remember who is throwing the party, and when I realize that we are all merely players in a play. Then I smile inside. Then I feel that Presence within, around, everywhere. And I celebrate.

There You Go Again

~ by Adyashanti

Ever since I stepped out of imagination
and into the heart of things
I have become so much less spiritual.

Heaven, hell and earth
hold no meaning for me anymore.
For I am neither coming
nor going, nor staying put.

All I do is notice all the various ways
that Light weaves itself into dreams.
When someone asks me who they are,
or what God is…
I smile inside and whisper to the Light:
There you go again… pretending…

Wishing you a day of celebration. Because wherever you go, and whatever you encounter, God is.

